Demand Bill Language is Inclusive of Beacon Hill Neighborhood

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on TumblrEmail this to someoneDigg thisPin on PinterestShare on Reddit

The Washington State legislature is considering House Bill 1847, an Act relating to aircraft noise abatement for impacted neighborhoods surrounding the Sea-Tac Airport. The Beacon Hill neighborhood is a “vertical fenceline” community located right underneath the fixed flight path where 70% of the flight arrivals fly over us about every 60 to 90 seconds.

Flight operations from the Port of Seattle adversely impact the Beacon Hill neighborhood of 35,000 residents, yet the bill’s current language excludes us from the “impacted area.” As a direct result of planes flying overhead and major roadways surrounding us, these unjust environmental and health conditions expose residents – both young and old as well as new to long-time – to air and noise pollution.

If you either live in Beacon Hill or have a relationship with the relevant legislators connected to this bill, please urge them to fully consider Beacon Hill for inclusion in HB 1847. Find your district here. You can defend Beacon Hill by commenting on the bill or emailing your legislators:

Representatives by District

District 11
Bob.Hasegawa@leg.wa.gov
Zack.Hudgins@leg.wa.gov
Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov

District 22
Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov

District 30
Mike.Pellicciotti@leg.wa.gov
Kristine.Reeves@leg.wa.gov

District 33
Tina.Orwall@leg.wa.gov

District 37
Rebecca.Saldana@leg.wa.gov
Eric.Pettigrew@leg.wa.gov
SharonTomiko.Santos@leg.wa.gov


Members of the Local Government Committee

Chair: Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov (District 46)
Vice Chair: Strom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov (District 21)
Ranking Minority Member: Vicki.Kraft@leg.wa.gov (District 17)  
Ast. Ranking Minority Member:
 Dan.Griffey@leg.wa.gov (District 35)
Member:
 Sherry.Appleton@leg.wa.gov (District 23)
Member:
 Keith.Goehner@leg.wa.gov (District 12)
Member: 
Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov (District 41)
Research Analyst: Yvonne.Walker@leg.wa.gov
Legislative AssistantAlexis.Arambul@leg.wa.gov