2022 年員工和志願者表彰

我們的員工和志願者努力工作以提供我們所有的 43 項計劃和服務。 請與我們一起承認和慶祝他們的服務和奉獻精神!

執行董事獎 – 希爾達馬加尼亞

西雅圖年度最佳員工 – 塔尼亞·薩拉特

年度最佳員工,聯邦之路 – 瑪麗亞卡薩雷斯

精神獎 – 勞拉阿班

西雅圖年度志願者 – 亞迪拉·阿爾瓦雷斯

聯邦路年度志願者 – Moises Marchan

Equipo del Año – 美國退休人員協會


服務獎

25 年的服務

瑪麗亞·里科

瑪麗亞·特蕾莎·加西亞·菲茨

桑德拉麥地那席爾瓦

20 年的服務

里卡多·索利斯(Ricardo Solis)

瑪麗亞·德·熱蘇斯·拉米雷斯

克里斯蒂娜·希門尼斯

15 年的服務

傑西卡·哈里斯·埃雷拉

瑪麗塞拉·阿奎羅

貝倫門多薩魯伊斯

5 年的服務

維羅妮卡·加拉多
永耀園

米爾莎·岡薩雷斯
楊耀平

羅莎·伊塞拉·佩雷斯
艾達馬吉德齋戒月

3 年的服務

維克多·塞德內塔
曼德拉加德納
海蒂·哈姆斯
艾里斯·納瓦羅·迪亞茲·德萊昂
燕妮祖爾
Deicy Pérez Sánchez
海莉·貝拉

薩菲拉·米爾扎伊
珍妮絲·安吉利斯
吉姆·坎圖
奧爾加科爾特斯
埃斯特拉·羅德里格斯
佩德羅·魯伊斯(Pedro Ruiz)
保羅·阿雷拉諾

丹妮拉·利薩拉加
凱倫卡爾沃
瑪麗亞·哈索·托雷斯
阿杜法·戈麥斯
維爾瑪比利亞洛沃斯
卡米拉·普爾潘


前線工作者獎

今年,我們慶祝員工自20年2020月XNUMX日以來,犧牲、勇敢、冒著巨大的個人風險,成為一名表現出最高程度無私精神的一線工作者。 我們永遠感謝他們的基本服務! ¡Mil Gracias, por su sacrificio!

勞拉阿班
瑪麗亞·路易莎·阿奎萊拉
羅莎琳娜阿爾瓦雷斯
珍妮絲·安吉利斯
費登西奧·安吉利斯
諾瑪·阿帕里西奧
瑪麗塞拉·阿奎羅
格拉謝拉·阿亞拉
伊朗巴爾巴
莉賽特巴拉扎
拉斐爾·巴倫
何塞·貝洛索
西特拉利貝爾特蘭
茉莉卡爾德隆
佩拉坎貝爾
陳雅琪
朱莉
奧爾加科爾特斯
埃爾皮迪奧·科爾特斯·蒙鐵爾
瑪麗亞·德·熱蘇斯·拉米雷斯

瑪莎·迪亞茲
塞拉·迪亞茲·佩尼亞洛薩
羅西奧·埃斯皮里圖
博美費爾明
特蕾莎·菲茨
維羅妮卡·加拉多
特蕾莎·加西亞(Teresa Garcia)
拉奎爾·加西亞
海迪·加西亞
克勞迪貝·加西亞
弗洛爾·戈麥斯
安吉拉戈麥斯
阿杜法·戈麥斯
米爾莎·岡薩雷斯
傑西卡·岡薩雷斯(Jessica Gonzalez)
哈維爾·岡薩雷斯(Javier Gonzalez)
傑西卡·哈里斯·埃雷拉
伯莎埃爾南德斯
黃杏梅
白楊黃
瑪麗亞·哈索

克里斯蒂娜·希門尼斯
基拉·藍西安

林佳麗
伊麗莎白·洛佩茲
希爾達馬加納
桑德拉麥地那
胡安娜·門多薩
貝倫門多薩魯伊斯
霍滕西亞梅爾卡多
法維安莫哥倫
珍妮特·蒙羅伊
瑪麗亞·帕瓜達
克勞迪婭付付
羅莎·佩雷斯(Rosa Perez)
塞西莉亞佩雷斯
弗朗茨·佩雷斯
貝爾納黛特波利納爾
奧德莉亞金特羅
艾達拉馬丹
戴安娜·拉米雷斯

安娜·拉米雷斯(Ana Ramirez)
海達·雷蒙多
瑪麗里科
亞歷杭德拉·里科-迪亞茲
珍妮里維拉
羅西奧·魯伊斯
佩德羅·魯伊斯(Pedro Ruiz)
維尼·桑切斯
里卡多·索利斯(Ricardo Solis)
譚夏英
珍妮特·托雷斯(Janet Torres)
孔蘇埃洛·特魯希略
維爾瑪比利亞洛沃斯
楊文迪
楊爾興
塔尼亞·薩拉特
張蘇茜
趙麗莎
桑德拉祖尼加

2023 年 Día de los Reyes 回顧

感謝所有在我們的 Día de los Reyes 活動中與我們一起慶祝的人!

感謝我們 José Martí 兒童發展中心的學生、老師和家長,感謝他們傳統的 los Tres Reyes Magos 遊行表演! 感謝我們所有銷售如此出色產品的小型企業供應商。

Día de los Reyes 的歷史和意義

6年一月th 標誌著我們慶祝的墨西哥文化和全球各個地區的象徵性慶祝活動 迪亞德洛斯雷耶斯 也被稱為 三王節. 這個節日代表著三位智者:梅爾基奧爾、加斯帕爾和巴爾薩澤,代表阿拉伯、東方和非洲,騎著馬、駱駝和大象,按照眾所周知的方式,將黃金、熏香和沒藥帶給嬰兒耶穌的日子作為伯利恆鎮的聖誕之星。

為了紀念三位國王給嬰兒耶穌帶來禮物,拉丁美洲和世界各地的孩子們通過交換禮物來慶祝。 按照傳統,孩子們會在 5 月 XNUMX 日晚上為三位國王留下他們的鞋子,第二天早上他們會醒來為他們尋找禮物。 Díade Los Reyes 的另一個常見傳統是烘烤或購買和服務 羅斯卡·德·雷耶斯(Rosca de Reyes), 或者 國王蛋糕. Rosca的形狀像一個花圈,上面裝飾著蜜餞,最重要的是,裡面烤了一個小耶穌娃娃。 誰得到了帶有洋娃娃的 Rosca 碎片,誰就必須在 蠟燭節 二月裡。 在墨西哥文化中,主人會提供玉米粉蒸肉和墨西哥熱巧克力或 champurrado。


El 6 de Enero marca una celebración simbólica entre la cultura Mexicana y varias partes del mundo, ya que celebramos el Día de Reyes, también conocido como Día de los Reyes Magos。 La celebración representa el día en que los Tres Reyes Magos: Melchor, Gaspar y Baltasar, que representan Arabia, el Oriente y África, llegaron a caballo, camello y elefante, trayendo oro, incienso y mirra al niño Jesús después de seguir lo que se Conoce como la estrella de Belén。

En honor a los Reyes Magos que traen regalos al niño Jesús, los niños en Latinoamérica y en todo el mundo celebran intercambiando regalos。 Como tradición, los niños dejan sus zapatos afuera la noche del 5 de Enero para los Reyes Magos y la mañana siguiente se despiertan para encontrar regalos para ellos。 Otra tradición común en el Día de Los Reyes es hacer o comprar y servir una Rosca de Reyes。 La Rosca tiene forma de corona y está decorada con fruta seca,y la parte más importante,horneada con un pequeño muñeco Jesús en su interior。 Quien corte la pieza de la Rosca con el muñeco tiene que tener una celebración el Día de la Candelaria en Febrero。 En la cultura Mexicana,el anfitrión sirve tamales y un chocolate caliente o champurrado。

新聞稿:作為南金縣擴建採購的一部分,非營利組織 El Centro De La Raza 以聯邦方式拯救心愛的溜冰場

聯繫人:Maria Paguada | 電子郵件:mpaguada@elcentrodelaraza.org | 電話:(206) 957-4605 |
立即發布——4 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日

此次購買是在該地區建設社區中心、經濟適用房和其他服務的總體規劃的一部分

西雅圖—非營利組織 El Centro de la Raza 收購了位於 Federal Way 的 Pattison 的 West Skating Centre,作為向 Federal Way 擴展的計劃的一部分,該計劃將為該地區帶來社區中心、經濟適用房、兒童發展中心和其他服務。

6.5 萬美元的交易今天已完成。

Pattison 的 West Skating Rink 計劃關閉,但已經在該地點設有辦公室的 El Centro de la Raza 購買了該場地,因為它對社區產生了積極影響。

“溜冰場將社區和家庭聚集在一起,為當地青年創造就業機會,因此我們將其視為我們計劃的重要組成部分,”El Centro de la Raza 執行董事 Estela Ortega 說。 “這不僅僅是關於社區中心和經濟適用房。 溜冰場是當地的文化設施,我們認為這是我們為該地區提供服務的整體努力的一部分。”

Ortega 強調,Federal Way 的開發將支持所有小企業在該地點開設店鋪。 計劃還包括社會服務和發展 梅爾卡多, 或市場,供小企業和企業家銷售他們的產品。

該綜合體將分階段建設,其中包括建造總共 208 套經濟適用房。 社區中心將包括青年服務和藝術家空間。 它位於Pacific Highway South 和 16 的交匯處th Ave.S.

開發資金預計將來自華盛頓州、聯邦基金、華盛頓州住房金融委員會的貸款和其他來源。 預計將於 2025 年開始建設。

Federal Way 項目並不是 El Centro de la Raza 開展的第一個大型項目。 Plaza Maestas 是西雅圖的一座混合用途建築,包含 112 個經濟適用房單元、一個早教、辦公和零售空間,建於 2016 年。

該組織也即將完成為哥倫比亞市另一個經濟適用房開發項目籌款。 這座耗資 58 萬美元的面向家庭的建築將有 87 套公寓,其中大部分是兩居室和三居室單元。 它還將提供社區服務,並將有當地藝術家的壁畫。

“經濟適用房開發對於社區組織和有色人種社區來說是新事物,”奧爾特加說。 “當基於社區的組織開發經濟適用房和服務時,它會為組織、社區和其他美好事物創造穩定性。”

Estela Ortega 可以接受采訪。

關於 El Centro de la Raza

作為一個立足於華盛頓州拉丁裔社區的組織,El Centro de la Raza(所有種族人民中心)的使命是通過統一所有種族和經濟部門來建立摯愛的社區; 組織、賦權和捍衛我們最脆弱和邊緣化人群的基本人權; 並為世界各國人民帶來批判意識、正義、尊嚴和公平。 我們設想一個沒有基於貧困、種族主義、性別歧視、性取向和任何限制平等獲取資源的歧視的世界,以確保所有人民和我們的後代在和平、愛與和諧中過上健康和富有成效的生活. 訪問 www.elcentrodelaraza.org 了解更多信息。

即將舉行的活動 - 2022 年 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 月


重新劃分討論恢復

May 19, 2022 – 為應對西雅圖自 2010 年以來 21.1% 的急劇增長,西雅圖重新劃分委員會目前正在研究如何重新繪製西雅圖七個市議會區的邊界,並邀請社區成員了解該過程並在即將舉行的公共論壇上提供反饋. 他們正在考慮擴大 1、2、5 和 6 區的邊界線,並與 3、4 和 7 區簽約。

這是一個表達我們關注的問題並提出有關重新劃分如何影響公民參與、地理邊界和水道的問題的機會。

我們將在 El Centro de la Raza 舉辦一場,並邀請您親自或以虛擬方式註冊並加入。

提前註冊 at https://seattle.surveymonkey.com/r/VXM2PGW.


第 2 區公共論壇:19 年 2022 月 5 日下午 30:7-30:XNUMX
19 月 XNUMX 日星期四
下午5:30 - 下午7:30
El Centro de la Raza, Centilia 文化中心
1660 S Roberto Maestas Festival St, 西雅圖, WA 98144
面對面或虛擬: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/81813406544


燈塔藝術(夏季)藝術!

11 月 9 日、13 月 10 日、XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日、XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日– 與我們一起度過陽光明媚的日子,在燈塔藝術街博覽會上,充滿藝術、良好的公司以及對植物和流行藝術家表達愛意的人們!

11月9日| 13 月 XNUMX 日 | XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日 | 九月

上午 10:00 - 下午 4:00 @ Roberto Maestas 節日街


還有兩週時間提名一位社區領袖獲得 Roberto Maestas 遺產獎!


El Centro de la Raza 今年 50 歲了! 通過提名在我們社區從事重要社會正義工作的人獲得 Roberto Felipe Maestas 遺產獎,幫助我們慶祝。 遺產獎是我們向已故創始人 Roberto Maestas 致敬的方式,他幫助組織了 1972 年對廢棄的燈塔山學校的和平佔領,該學校後來成為我們今天所知的 El Centro de la Raza。 Roberto Maestas 一生致力於通過多種族團結來建立“摯愛的社區”。 他深信,只有不同種族和背景的人們齊心協力,才能消除貧困、種族主義和社會不平等。

第 12 屆年度羅伯托·費利佩·梅斯塔斯遺產獎將表彰兩位以身作則的人 建立心愛的社區 通過多種族團結和努力消除貧困、種族主義和社會不平等。 我們鼓勵所有種族、民族、年齡和性別認同的人申請該獎項。 
 
El Centro de la Raza 將通過以他們的名義向他們選擇的組織捐贈 1,000 美元的禮物來慶祝獲獎者和他們的貢獻。 獲獎者將在定於 50 年 8 月 2022 日星期六舉行的 El Centro de la Raza 建立摯愛社區 XNUMX 週年慶典上獲得表彰。
 
遺產獎申請人可以自行提名或由其他人提名。 接受者被要求參加 El Centro de la Raza 的“建立心愛的社區”晚會。
 
截止日期 申請提交時間為太平洋時間 31 年 2022 月 5 日星期二下午 00:XNUMX。 

請通過以下方式提名您自己或您今天認識的人 我們的表格.

了解我們的 2021 年獲獎者,埃斯特爾·威廉姆斯博士和埃德溫·林多

健康與成功 拉薩中心 從你開始。 來自包括基金會、個人和公司在內的廣泛社區成員的支持對我們的成功至關重要,我們要求您仔細考慮製作一份對個人有意義的禮物——這可能是您做過的最大的禮物。

近期活動圖片

自 2019 年以來,我們第一次能夠親自與大家一起慶祝我們的文化! 感謝所有在寒冷的天氣裡參加跳舞、玩耍和支持我們當地藝術家和供應商的人!

請在 Facebook 和 Instagram 上關注我們,以獲取更多關於我們活動的報導,包括我們活動的圖片和視頻:

Facebook | Instagram | 我們的活動 福克斯13!

PRESS RELEASE: Nonprofit El Centro De La Raza to Save Beloved Skating Rink in Federal Way as Part of South King County Expansion Purchase

Contact: Maria Paguada | Email: mpaguada@elcentrodelaraza.org | Phone: (206) 957-4605 |
For immediate release – Oct. 4, 2022

The purchase is part of a grand master plan to build a community center, affordable housing and other services in the area

SEATTLE—Nonprofit El Centro de la Raza has bought Pattison’s West Skating Center in Federal Way as part of a planned expansion into Federal Way that will bring a community center, affordable housing, a child development center and other services into the area.

The $6.5 million transaction has been finalized today.

Pattison’s West Skating Rink was slated to close, but El Centro de la Raza, which already has an office at the site, bought the venue because of the positive impact it has in the community.

“The rink brings the community and families together and creates jobs for area youth, so we saw it as an essential piece of our plans,” said Estela Ortega, executive director of El Centro de la Raza. “It is not just about the community center and affordable housing. The rink is a local cultural fixture that we see as part of our overall efforts to bring services to the area.”

Ortega stressed that the development in Federal Way will support all small businesses to set up shop at the location. Plans also include social services and the development of a mercado, or market, for small businesses and entrepreneurs to sell their products.

The complex will be built in phases, which will include construction of a total of 208 affordable housing units. The community center will include youth services and space for artists. It is located at the intersection of Pacific Highway South and 16th Ave. S.

Funding for the development is expected to come from the state of Washington, federal funds, a loan from the Washington State Housing Finance Commission, and other sources. Construction is expected to begin in 2025.

The Federal Way project is not the first large project El Centro de la Raza has undertaken. Plaza Maestas, a mixed-use building in Seattle containing 112 affordable housing units, an early learning, and office and retail space, was built in 2016.

The organization is also getting close to completing fundraising for another affordable housing development in Columbia City. That $58-million, family-oriented building will have 87 apartments, most of which will be two-and three-bedroom units. It will also provide community services and will have murals by local artists.

“Affordable housing development is new to community-based organizations and communities of color,” Ortega said. “When community-based organizations develop affordable housing and services, it creates stability for the organizations, communities, and other good things begin to happen.”

Estela Ortega is available for interviews.

About El Centro de la Raza

As an organization grounded in the Latino community of Washington State, it is the mission of El Centro de la Raza (The Center for People of All Races) to build the Beloved Community through unifying all racial and economic sectors; to organize, empower, and defend the basic human rights of our most vulnerable and marginalized populations; and to bring critical consciousness, justice, dignity, and equity to all the peoples of the world. We envision a world free of oppression based on poverty, racism, sexism, sexual orientation, and discrimination of any kind that limits equal access to the resources that ensure a healthy and productive life in peace, love and harmony for all peoples and our future generations. Learn more at www.elcentrodelaraza.org.

Upcoming Events – May-June 2022


Redistricting Discussions Resume

May 19, 2022 – In response to the drastic growth of Seattle since 2010 of 21.1%, the Seattle Redistricting Commission is currently examining how to redraw the boundaries of Seattle’s seven City Council Districts and is inviting community members to learn about the process and provide feedback at upcoming public forums. They are considering expanding boundary lines in District 1, 2, 5, and 6 and contracting Districts 3, 4, and 7.

This is an opportunity to present our concerns and ask questions about how redistricting can impact civic engagement, geographic boundaries, and waterways.

We will be hosting one at El Centro de la Raza, and invite you to register and join in person or virtually if you can.

Register in advance at https://seattle.surveymonkey.com/r/VXM2PGW.


District 2 Public Forum: May 19, 2022 from 5:30pm-7:30pm
Thursday, 19th of Mayo
5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
El Centro de la Raza, Centilia Cultural Center
1660 S Roberto Maestas Festival St, Seattle, WA 98144
In-Person or Virtual: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/81813406544


Art for (Summer) Days with Beacon Arts!

June 11, July 9, Aug 13, Sept 10– Join us for sunny days filled with art, good company, and people showing love for plants and pop artists in the neighborhood at the Beacon Arts Street Fairs!

June 11| July 9 | Aug 13 | Sept

10:00AM- 4:00PM @ Roberto Maestas Festival Street


Two more weeks to nominate a Community Leader for the Roberto Maestas Legacy Award!


El Centro de la Raza turns 50 this year! Help us celebrate by nominating someone who is doing important Social Justice work in our community for the Roberto Felipe Maestas Legacy Award. The Legacy Awards are our way of honoring of our late founder, Roberto Maestas, who helped organize the 1972 peaceful occupation of the abandoned Beacon Hill school, which later became El Centro de la Raza as we know it today. Roberto Maestas’s life was dedicated to building “Beloved Community” through multi-racial unity. He deeply believed that poverty, racism and social inequity could only be eradicated if people of all races and backgrounds came together to do so.

The 12th Annual Roberto Felipe Maestas Legacy Award will recognize two individuals who have exemplified Building the Beloved Community through multi-racial unity and working to eliminate poverty, racism and social inequity. We encourage people of all races, ethnicities, ages, and gender identities to apply for this award. 
 
El Centro de la Raza will celebrate awardees and their contributions by making a $1,000 gift in their name to an organization of their choice.  Award recipients will be recognized at El Centro de la Raza’s 50th Anniversary Building the Beloved Community Gala, which is set to take place on Saturday, October 8, 2022.
 
Legacy Award applicants can self-nominate or be nominated by someone else. Recipients are asked to attend El Centro de la Raza’s Building the Beloved Community Gala.
 
Deadline for application submission is Tuesday, May 31, 2022 at 5:00pm Pacific Time. 

Please nominate yourself or someone you know today via our form.

Read about our 2021 honorees, Dr. Estell Williams and Edwin Lindo

The health and success of El Centro de la Raza begins with you. Support from a broad base of community members including foundations, individuals, and corporations is critical to our success and we ask that you carefully consider making a personally meaningful gift – it may be the largest gift you have ever made.

Pictures from Recent Events

For the first time since 2019, we were able to celebrate our culture with you all again in-person! Thank you to everyone who attended despite the chilly weather to dance, play, and support our local artists and vendors!

Please follow us on Facebook and Instagram for more coverage of our events, including pictures and videos from our events:

Facebook | Instagram | Our Event on Fox 13!